Volkswagen T-Roc Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm new to diesel cars, having always had petrol golfs. Picked my new TDI T-roc on Saturday and I've noticed the engine fan keeps running when I turn off the engine. There is also a strong sooty like smell. It only has 70 miles on the clock.
Should I take it back to the dealership??
Also what are people's experiences with Adblue, as none of this was explained to me by dealership (Lookers). :oops:

·
Registered
985 Posts
It's not unusual on cars these days for the fan to run on for a short while when the engine is switched off (it's been a 'feature' of the 3 Audi's I've had to date), so I don't think you have a problem, it's normal. As for the sooty smell. Welcome to diesels - but if this persists then have a word with the dealer. Given you've only done 70 miles to date, you are probably still getting a number of new car/engine smells which will go after a few hundred miles. But if in doubt, do speak with your dealer.

Adblue is needed these days to reduce emissions on diesel cars. I have no personal experience, but you will need to have your Adblue tank topped up on occasion (the handbook may suggest how frequently).

·
Registered
157 Posts
You can buy the adblu in places like Halfords.
Some petrol stations have also started it on their pumps.
You can top it up yourself but make sure you wash it off straight away if you get it on your paintwork. (Saves paying for your dealer to do it although my dealer did it free of charge when I had mine.
It's always worth keeping a spare bottle in the boot because if the tank empties the car will not start and the adblu readout on the Tig could be a bit unreliable as far as reading when you need to top up and also your meant to get a certain amount of mileage when in fact you were finding it less than stated in the handbook.
.I'm not sure what it would be like on the Roc but I guess they would use the same sensor.